Fluvial Research Group


The Fluvial Research Group comprises Leeds-based workers, externally-based Associates, research students and other collaborators. We also enjoy links with other groups from across the world.

FRG-ERG Members: Academic & Related

Dr Nigel Mountney (Principal Investigator)

Dr Giorgio Basilici (University of Campinas, Brazil)
Prof Bernard Besly (Besly Earth Science Ltd)
Dr Jonathan Carrivick
Dr Rob Chapman
Dr Richard Collier
Prof John Collinson (John Collinson Consulting Ltd)
Dr Luca Colombera (Co-Investigator)
Dr Patrick Dal Bó (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
Dr Rob. Dorrell
Prof Quentin Fisher

Dr Shahid Ghazi (University of Punjab)
Samantha Haynes
Prof John Holbrook (Co-Investigator, TCU University, Texas)
Prof Bill McCaffrey (Co-Investigator)
Dr Marco Patacci
Dr Douglas Paton
Prof Jeff Peakall
Maurício Santos (University of São Paulo, Brazil)
Prof Claiton Scherer
(UFRGS, Brazil)
Dr Rachael Spraggs (CiPEG Business Development Director)
Dr Jared West

Dr Na Yan
Dr Junfeng Zhao (Northwest University, China)

Current PhD Students

Oscar Arevalo
Manoela Bettarel Bállico (based at UFRGS, Brazil)
Catherine Burns
Grace Cosgrove
Simon Jackson
Giacomo Medici (funded by Total)
Jose Montero
Catherine Russell
Michelle Shiers
Roman Soltan
Dave Somerville
Ru Wang

External Collaborators

Steven Banham (Imperial College, London)
Dr Nigel Cassidy (Keele University)
Dr Robert Duller (University of Liverpool)
Dr. Juan Pedro Rodríguez-López (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
Hollie Romain (Shell)
Dr Andy Russell (University of Newcastle)
Jo Venus (Shell)
Oliver Wakefield (BGS, Keyworth)

Former Research Students Moving On

Mahmud Alkathery (2016, Leeds; now at Saudi Aramco)
Mohammed Al-Masrahy (2016, Leeds; now at Saudi Aramco)
Steven Banham (2013, Leeds; now at Imperial College, London)
Chris Banks (2005, Keele Uni; now at Schlumberger)
Stephen Cain (2010, Keele Uni; now at Luk Oil)
Luca Colombera (2013, Leeds; now PDRA with FRG-ERG)
Robert Duller (2007, Keele Uni; now at Uni of Liverpool)
Shahid Ghazi (2009, Leeds, now at Uni of Punjab, Lahore)
Alison Jagger (2003, Keele Uni; now at Tullow Oil)
Oliver Jordan (2006, Keele Uni; now at Statoil)
Hollie Romain (2014, Leeds; now at Shell)
Lucy Rushmer (2004, Keele Uni)
Jen Stuart (2015, Leeds; now at Shell)
Joanne Venus (2012, Leeds; now at Shell)
Oliver Wakefield (2011, Keele Uni; now at BGS Keyworth)